11 UCLA faculty members elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Eleven UCLA faculty members were today elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the most prestigious honor societies in the country. A total of 261 artists, scholars, scientists and leaders from the public, non-profit and private sectors were elected, including honorary members from 16 countries.

UCLA had the second highest honors among colleges and universities, followed only by Harvard. Stanford was third, UC Berkeley fourth, and MIT and Yale shared fifth place.

In February, UCLA was #1 in the number of professors selected 2022 Sloan Research Grants, an award widely regarded as a testament to the quality of an institution’s science, mathematics and economics faculty.

UCLA’s 2022 American Academy of Arts and Sciences honorees are:

John Agnew

Distinguished Professor of Geography

Agnew’s research focuses on political geography, international political economy, European urbanization, and modern Italy. Among his many awards is the 2019 Vautrin Lud Prize, one of the highest honors in the field of geography. In 2017 Agnew has been selected for delivery UCLA Faculty Research Lecture.

Walter Allen

Distinguished Professor of Education, Sociology and African American Studies

Allen, Allan Murray Cartter Professor of Higher Education at UCLA, is the Director of UCLA Capacity Building Center and the UCLA Choices Project. His expertise includes the comparative study of race, ethnicity and inequality; diversity in higher education; family studies; and the status of black men in American society.

Patricia Gandara

Research Professor of Education Sciences

Gandara is co-director of the Civil Rights Project/Proyecto Derechos Civiles at UCLA and Chair of the Education Working Group for the UC Mexico Initiative. Her publications include the 2021 books Schools Under Siege: Immigration Enforcement and Educational Equity and The Students We Share: Preparing US and Mexican Teachers for Our Transnational Future.

Wilfried Gangbo

Professor of Mathematics

Gangbo’s expertise includes calculus of variations, nonlinear analysis, partial differential equations and fluid mechanics. He is the founder of EcoAfrica, an association of scientists involved in projects to support Africa countries and is one of the faculty members at UC and Stanford University that brought this to life David Harold Blackwell Summer Research Institute.

Haruzo Hida

Distinguished Research Professor of Mathematics

Hida is an expert in number theory and modular forms. A distinguished mathematician, he has spoken about his research at numerous international conferences and received a 1991 Guggenheim Fellowship and the 2019 Leroy P. Steele Prize for Seminal Contribution to Research from the American Mathematical Society.

Leonid Krugljak

Distinguished Professor of Human Genetics and Biological Chemistry

David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA

Kruglyak is the Diller von Furstenberg Professor of Human Genetics at UCLA, Chair of the Department of Human Genetics, and a researcher at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. He studies the complex genetic basis of heritable traits, which includes many genes that interact with each other and the environment, and his laboratory conducts experiments using computer analysis and model organisms. He has received numerous awards, including the Burroughs Wellcome Fund Innovation Award in Functional Genomics, the Curt Stern Award from the American Society of Human Genetics, and the Edward Novitski Prize from the Genetics Society of America.

Peter Narin

Distinguished Research Professor of integrative biology and physiology and of ecology and evolutionary biology

Narins’ research focuses on how animals extract relevant sounds from the often noisy environment in which they live. His numerous honors and awards include a Guggenheim Fellowship, the Acoustical Society of America 2021 Silver Medal in Animal Bioacoustics and election to four scientific societies: the Acoustical Society of America, the Animal Behavior Society, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the International Society for Neuroethology.

Bradley Shaffer

Distinguished Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Shaffer, the director of UCLA La Kretz Center for California Conservation Science, is an expert in evolutionary biology, ecology and conservation biology of amphibians and reptiles. His recent work has focused on the conservation genomics of endangered and ecologically important California plants and animals, the global conservation of freshwater turtles and tortoises, and the application of genomics to protect endangered California amphibians and reptiles.

Blaire van Valkenburgh

Distinguished Research Professor Emeritus of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Van Valkenburgh, Donald R. Dickey Professor of Vertebrate Biology at UCLA, focuses on the biology and paleontology of carnivorous mammals such as hyenas, wolves, lions, and saber-toothed cats. She is a leading expert on the evolutionary biology of large carnivores past and present, analyzing the carnivore fossil record from both ecological and evolutionary perspectives.

George Varghese

Professor of Computer Science

UCLA Samueli School of Engineering

Varghese, Jonathan B. Postel Professor of Networking at UCLA, dedicated first part of his career to make the internet faster – a field he calls network algorithms – for which he was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2017, the National Academy of Inventors in 2020 and the Internet Hall of Fame in 2021. He is. Now he’s working to kick start an area he calls Network Design Automation to provide a set of tools for running and debugging networks.


Distinguished Professor of Sociology and Asian American Studies

Zhou, Walter and Shirley Wang Professor of US-China Relations and Communications at UCLA, is director of UCLA Asia Pacific Center. Her research interests include migration and development, Chinese diaspora, race and ethnicity, and urban sociology.

“These individuals excel in ways that excite and inspire us at a time when recognizing excellence, recognizing expertise and working for the greater good are absolutely essential to achieving a better tomorrow,” said David Oxtoby, President of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. said this year’s winner.

“Membership is both an honor and an opportunity to shape ideas and influence policy in areas as diverse as arts, democracy, education, global affairs and science,” said Nancy C. Andrews, Chair of the Academy Board.

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences was founded in 1780 by John Adams, John Hancock and others who believed that the new republic should honor exceptionally accomplished figures. Past grantees have included George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Albert Einstein, Charles Darwin, Winston Churchill, Martin Luther King Jr., Nelson Mandela, and UCLA astrophysicists Andrea Ghez.

The Academy also serves as an independent policy research center engaged in studies of complex and emerging issues. Its current membership represents some of today’s most innovative thinkers in a variety of fields and professions and includes more than 250 Nobel and Pulitzer Prize winners.